GLASS Arts Festival | Bergstrom-Mahler Museum of Glass

GLASS Arts Festival

2023 GLASS Arts Festival Awards

We are grateful to the 43 artists who participated in our second annual GLASS Arts Festival on August 12th, 2023.

The GLASS Arts Festival juror was Shawn Waggoner, Glass Arts writer and creator of the Talking Out Your Glass podcast.

After a brief juror remarks, the following awards were presented at 4:00 pm on Saturday, August 12th by Festival Juror Shawn Waggoner, Walt Koskinen, Board of Directors President , Kathy Brost, Board of Directors Vice President, and Amy Moorefield, Executive Director. Rosann Baum Milius, sponsor of the 1st Place Award presented this year’s award.

1st Place: Sharon Fujimoto, Amherst Junction, WI 

Sponsored by Rosann Baum Milius

$1,500, free booth fee in 2024, and a solo exhibition at the Bergstrom-Mahler Museum of Glass


2nd Place:  Connor O’Brien, Bensenville, IL

Sponsored by the Royal Hound and Mallet Club

$1,000 and free booth fee in 2024


3rd Place:  J. David Norton, Akron, OH

Sponsored by the Lilian Noble Fund

$500 and free booth fee in 2024


Honorable Mentions:

Receives a Victorian Level NARM Museum Membership

Valued at $150.

Jim Braun, Oswego, IL |


Cecile Derel, Chicago, IL |


Monica Harris, Evergreen Park, IL |


Thomas Nye, Minneapolis, MN |


Art DePesa, Downers Grove, IL |


Did you attend our GLASS Arts Festival?

Thank you! How did we do? Click HERE to answer a 5 question survey and be entered into a drawing to win a museum swag bag!